The History of Second Missionary Baptist Church 
The history of Second Missionary Baptist Church is a rich and varied history common to the locals who grew up in the surrounding area.  Founded in the Spring of 1886, Reverend Henry Adams sought to build a Baptist Church in the Old Wilmington Road Area.  With the help and assistance of local deacons, worship service began in the Old Holcomb House on Highway 87 South.  
The following is a list of former pastors who served here at Second Missionary Baptist Church:  Rev. Henry Adams, Rev. T.B. Watkins, Rev. Morrisey, Rev. C.K. Boyd, Rev. Rhone, Rev. Duncan Devane, Rev. Foster Melvin, and Rev. Hawkins.  
in 1933, Rev. Charles E. Perry was elected pastor and served until 1965.  Rev. K.S. David was pastor until 1967 when Rev. Willie  E. Beamon of Kinston, NC was elected.  Rev. Dr. I.E. Swann served as pastor from 1986 until December 2019. Interim pastors from December 2019 to 1-8- 2021  was Rev. Ted Smith , Sr. and Rev. Larry Simmons from 1-8-2021 to 2-28-2021.
 Currently serving as our pastor, since February 2021, is Rev. Gregory L. Jones.
On September 24, 2002, we began building our new sanctuary and it was dedicated less than a year later.  If you would like a more in-depth history of Second Missionary Baptist Church, contact the church clerk or Cumberland County Public Library Headquarters.
Second Missionary Baptist Church 
Previous Building 
Second Missionary Baptist Church 
Current Sanctuary